top of page

2023 Award Nominations

Award Nominations are currently being accepted for the recognitions below to be awarded at the 2023 Professional Development Summit.

The deadline for submitting nominations is August 1, 2023.

2022 Award Winners

Counselor of the Year - Bryanna Baker Meckley
Partnership Award - Community Connections; WV Collegiate Recovery Network
New Frontier Award - Alvin Hall
Distinguished Service Award - Laura Lander
Russ Taylor Addiction Awareness Award - Susan Bisset & WV Drug Intervention Institute; Dr. Matt Christiansen & WV Office of Drug Control Policy
Bill Perkins Presidential Award - Joe Deegan; Jaime Cantley 
Rising Star Award -  Brandon Whitehouse
Journeys to the Profession Higher Education Scholarship - Alvin Hall

New Frontier


A nominee for the New Frontier Award should be someone who is new to the field of addictions treatment. The nominee must have been in the field for two (2) years or less and have demonstrated commitment and dedication in efforts through treatment, education, or other avenues to advance in the filed of addictions treatment and prevention.

Distinguished Service Award

A nominee for the Distinguished Service Award should be someone who has demonstrated commitment and dedication in efforts through treatment, education, or other avenues in the field of addictions treatment and prevention. 

WVAADC Counselor of the Year Award

A nominee for this award is one who represents what we all strive for: commitment and dedication to the professional treatment of addicted individuals. This addiction professional is one we will recognize as having the qualities and dedication to be named WVAADC’s Counselor of the Year.

Russ Taylor


Nominees for the Russ Taylor Award can be any person who has shown a dedication to the field of addictions in various ways. This person does not need to be a member of WVAADC. Areas of work or participation to be considered for this prestigious award are prevention, treatment and recovery. The nominee should have substantial participation on local, state, or federal levels within our profession.

Jim Hearn Scholarship

The scholarship is open to both members and non-members. Non-members must be nominated by an Association Member in good standing. An individual may be a recipient of the scholarship award only once every five years.

Journey to the Profession Scholarship

A nominee for this scholarhip is a person pursuing a formal educational program (associates, bachelor's, or master's degree) and has the intention of serving in the addictions profession.

This scholarship honors and recognizes  Jean Haller and Journey of Life Bookstore for all of her contributions and generosity to WVAADC through the years.

bottom of page